If a driver doesn’t have auto accident insurance in Louisiana, the state’s “no pay, no play” law prevents them from recovering up to $15,000 of bodily injury damages and up to $25,000 of property damages. However, drivers should know about five exceptions to the rule.
Any motor vehicle accident victim should be able to say they have a car accident lawyer “on my side.” We can determine if any exceptions to the “no pay, no play” law apply to your case and seek compensation on your behalf.
What Is the Louisiana ‘No Pay, No Play’ Law?
Since 2011, Louisiana drivers must carry auto accident insurance, or they won’t be able to recover damages, according to the “no pay, no play” law, also known as RS 32:866.
The statute prevents victims with little or no auto accident insurance coverage from recovering the first $15,000 of bodily injury compensation and the first $25,000 of property damage compensation.
So, no matter which driver is at fault for the accident, the uninsured party is responsible for covering these expenses.
For a free legal consultation, call (337) 777-7777
Are There Exceptions to Louisiana’s ‘No Pay, No Play’ Law?
If you have little or no auto accident insurance, you will be on the hook to pay medical expenses and car repairs whether you are at fault or not. But there are five exceptions to Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law that could exempt you from having to pay.
- If your car was legally parked at the time of the collision, the law does not apply, even if you don’t have auto accident insurance.
- If you were hit by a driver under the influence of alcohol or drugs or the other driver committed certain other crimes before the accident, the law does not apply to you.
- If you are a driver from another state with different insurance requirements, you are exempt from the “no pay, no play” law.
- If you are a passenger but not a co-owner of the vehicle that has no insurance, the law does not apply to you, and you can make a compensation claim.
- If you are carrying the minimum amount of auto accident insurance with $15,000 of bodily injury coverage and $25,000 of property damage coverage, you are exempt from the “no pay, no play” law. You do not have to carry full coverage.
It may not be immediately apparent that you are exempt from Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law, but our car accident attorney from our firm can determine if any of the above five exceptions apply to you.
What if an At-Fault Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance in Louisiana?
Unfortunately, if the other driver is at fault for the accident and does not have auto insurance, your costs may end up going unpaid. Your insurance company will likely try to recover damages from the at-fault driver directly as opposed to the usual process of recovering damages from the other insurance company.
However, this effort may be unsuccessful. If this is the case, your insurer will likely raise premiums to offset the loss. You can also obtain legal representation and file a lawsuit against the other driver seeking compensation to cover your losses.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Can You Still Receive Compensation After an Accident?
Even if you don’t have auto accident insurance, you may still be able to recover compensation to cover your losses.
Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law only prevents you from recovering the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages and the first $25,000 of property damages. If your medical or car repair expenses go beyond those amounts, you can seek compensation to cover additional expenses beyond those amounts, although you will have to pay the first $15,000 or $25,000 out of your own pocket.
This is why having adequate insurance coverage in Louisiana is important.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How Can I Get Auto Insurance in Louisiana?
As long as you purchase the minimum amount of coverage ($15,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage), you are exempt from the “no pay, no play” law.
Several auto insurance providers in the state can offer you coverage. You can contact one or several to get a quote that works for you and begin the process. You should also consider purchasing uninsured motorist coverage (RS 22:1295), which allows you to file a claim with your own insurer if the other driver has no insurance. This offers you another layer of protection, especially in a scenario where the at-fault driver has no insurance.
Learn More About Exceptions to Louisiana’s ‘No Pay, No Play’ Law Today
Maybe you don’t quite understand Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law or the exceptions that apply. You may not even know about them or if they apply to your situation. A car accident attorney from Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers can explain the law to you and determine if you are exempt under any of the exceptions.
Our Louisiana-based attorney team have over 250 years of collective personal injury experience providing legal services to clients like you. If you or someone you love were in a car accident and you or the other driver have no insurance, contact us to schedule a free consultation today.
Call or text (337) 777-7777 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form