Louisiana is a pure comparative negligence state, which means that after most car accidents, the damages will be paid by the driver(s) who caused the crash based on their percentage of fault. So, in most cases, if you are injured or your property is damaged in a collision that another driver caused, you will recover compensation from that driver’s insurance company.
However, if you were uninsured or not carrying the minimum required coverage at the time of the crash, Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law (RS: 32:866) will bar you from collecting the first $25,000 of property damages and the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages. You will have to pay those costs out of your own pocket—even if the other driver was entirely at-fault.
For a free legal consultation, call (337) 777-7777
If you are concerned that Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law will affect your claim, contact Laborde Earles Law Firm. Our attorneys have more than 100 years of combined experience, and we will use our knowledge and resources to help you fight for the maximum settlement. Call 800-522-6733 to schedule a free consultation with an auto accident lawyer in Lafayette.
Are There Any Exceptions to the “No Pay, No Play” Law?
The “No Pay, No Play” law does not apply when:
- All drivers involved in the crash have coverage that meets the state’s minimum insurance limits;
- A parked vehicle is hit;
- A driver is from another state that did not require liability insurance at the time of the accident; or
- The driver who caused the accident is convicted of DWI, fled the scene, caused the crash intentionally, or committed another felony at the time of the crash.
The law also does not apply to a claim filed by a passenger unless he or she is a co-owner of the uninsured vehicle.
Do Other States Have Laws Similar to Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” Law?
Besides Louisiana, there are 10 other states that have a law similar to the “No Pay, No Play” law. In each of those states, the law only applies to non-economic damages such as pain and suffering. Louisiana is the only state where the law applies to economic damages for vehicle repairs and healthcare bills.
What Are the Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Louisiana?
The minimum car insurance requirements in Louisiana are as follows:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability;
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability; and
- $25,000 for property damage liability.
Your insurance carrier is required to offer you medical payments coverage of at least $1,000 and uninsured motorist coverage of $30,000 per accident and $15,000 per person; however, you can reject these policies in writing.
If you were injured in a collision and you are concerned about your ability to recover compensation, contact Laborde Earles Law Firm. Call 800-522-6733 today to schedule a free initial consultation with an injury attorney in Lafayette.