Metairie’s proximity to New Orleans makes it a convenient spot to travel in and out of the French Quarter, visit local tourist attractions, and enjoy the south shore of Lake Pontchartrain. Both locals and newcomers use multiple means of travel to get around, one method being Uber or Lyft rides.
If you or a loved one was injured while riding an Uber or Lyft vehicle, you might be eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit. Alternatively, if you were struck by a ridesharing vehicle, you might also qualify for compensation.
Contact Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers for a free case evaluation by calling our team at (504) 777-7777. We may be able to have a Metairie Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer from our firm work on your case and guide you on your legal journey.
Uber and Lyft Drivers Must Carry Their Own Auto Insurance
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI), drivers who work for Transportation Network Companies (TNCs), such as Uber and Lyft, should carry their own auto insurance.
If your accident involved an Uber or Lyft driver who was not working at the time of the accident, you may pursue compensation through the driver’s personal car insurance policy, but you might not be able to pursue compensation from the rideshare company they work for.
When Uber and Lyft Will Cover Accidents
TNCs are regulated by law in Louisiana. The insurance regulations for TNCs are written in the Louisiana Revised Statutes (RS) §45:201.6. These regulations apply to all rideshare companies, including Uber and Lyft.
Essentially, these insurance regulations hold Uber and Lyft accountable for accidents where the driver was engaging with the app and waiting for a ride or actively giving a passenger a ride. Both companies may also be liable for accidents if the driver was:
- Waiting for a ride request, even if they were parked
- On their way to pick up a passenger
- Dropping off passengers at their destinations
Each rideshare company operating in Louisiana must have liability coverage that abides by state standards. This means they must have:
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage, including death, per person
- $100,000 bodily injury coverage, including death, per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage
Depending on the situation, you might also be able to receive compensation if a third party or an uninsured motorist was involved in the accident.
For a free legal consultation with a uber and lyft rideshares lawyer serving Metairie, call (337) 777-7777
We Can Help You Fight for Compensation
Your car accident lawyer may be able to help you fight for compensation for multiple types of damages. While many people might consider the costs of their medical treatment or vehicle repairs as the only kind of damages they can claim, this may not be true.
You may be able to pursue damages for how the accident affected your ability to work. These types of damages may apply if:
- You had to wait for your vehicle to get repaired or replaced, so you could not travel to work.
- You had to pay for alternative means of travel, such as bus fares or rental car fees.
- You were injured severely enough that you had to take time off work and lost wages as a result.
- You lost your job because you could no longer work as a result of your injuries.
You might pursue damages related to your injuries, such as:
- Costs of medical treatment and prescription medications
- Copays for doctor’s appointments
- Costs of medical equipment
- Costs of surgeries and other extensive procedures
You might even pursue damages related to how the accident affected your life in general. These damages may apply if:
- You suffered both emotional and physical pain because of the accident, which is referred to as general “pain and suffering.”
- You lost your ability to enjoy hobbies, fun activities, and life in general because of your injuries.
- You lost your ability to live independently.
- Your injuries altered the dynamics in your relationship with others, such as a spouse or your family.
Call Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers to learn more about your legal options and what damages may be available to you. You can reach a member of our team at (504) 777-7777.
Metairie Uber And Lyft Rideshares Lawyer Near Me (337) 777-7777
You Do Not Have Much Time to File a Lawsuit
If you intend to file a personal injury lawsuit against the Uber or Lyft driver, the ridesharing company, or whoever is the at-fault party in your case, you must do so within the statute of limitations in Louisiana.
The Louisiana Civil Code (CC) §3492 dictates that plaintiffs generally must file their case within one year of when the injury or damage occurred. If a plaintiff does not file their case by this deadline, they might not be able to compel the at-fault party to pay for their damages.
Your Metairie Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer can let you know when the filing deadline is coming up for your case, based on the date written in the official crash report.
Call Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers Today and Tell Us About Your Case
Whether you were inside or outside of the rideshare vehicle, you might be entitled to receive compensation if you were injured in an Uber or Lyft accident.
Still not sure if your case qualifies for a personal injury claim or lawsuit? Call Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers at (504) 777-7777, and let a member of our team know what sort of challenges you have been facing since you got injured in the accident.
Accident cases involving Uber and Lyft vehicles can get complicated. Take the stress of dealing with the legal process off of your shoulders and hire a Metairie Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer from our firm to manage your case for you. The first consultation is free, and you do not have to pay any attorney’s fees unless we win your case.