Kenner, Louisiana, is the largest city in Jefferson Parish and serves as a suburban town in the New Orleans area, making it a prime location to get in and out of the city during festivities. Tourists can enjoy the residential side of Louisiana, and locals can hitch a ride into the French Quarter whenever they please.
Yet, what happens when you take an Uber or Lyft ride and get injured in a car accident? For victims who have no idea how to recover their damages, call Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers to help you figure out how to fight for compensation in your case. You might be entitled to have the rideshare driver, company, or a third party pay for your damages.
Call our law firm at (504) 777-7777 for a free case evaluation. You can talk with a representative about how a Kenner Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer may be able to help you pursue compensation.
Louisiana Mandates That Rideshare Companies Provide Insurance Coverage
With the rise of Uber and Lyft across the nation, more and more people were using ridesharing apps to travel around cities. For consumers, ridesharing can be a great alternative when going to bars (no need for designated drivers), the airport (no need to ask a friend), and even work. However, in their early stages, ridesharing companies did not always take accountability when their contracted drivers got into accidents, which brought on legal issues.
In 2015, Louisiana passed RS Art. 45:201.6, which mandates that rideshare companies—referred to as “transportation network companies” or TNCs—must provide insurance to their drivers when they are working and actively transporting passengers.
By law, companies like Uber and Lyft must offer at least:
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, including cases involving death
- $100,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, including cases involving death
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
That way, if a passenger is harmed in an accident, they may receive coverage for their damages.
For a free legal consultation with a uber and lyft rideshare accident lawyer serving Kenner, call (337) 777-7777
Coverage Varies According to When the Accident Occurred
That being said, both the state and rideshare companies have policies on where their coverage steps in. Both Uber and Lyft have policies requiring the rideshare driver to be actively logged in to the app and using it before the company offers coverage, and depending on when the accident occurs, different coverage may apply.
For example, the rideshare company may be held liable when:
- The accident occurred while the driver was waiting for a ride request, meaning the app was on.
- The accident occurred while the driver was on their way to pick up a passenger.
- The accident occurred while the driver was transporting a passenger.
- The accident occurred while the driver was dropping off a passenger.
The rideshare company cannot be held liable if the driver was not working or was offering a passenger a ride while logged out of the app. In these scenarios, the rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance must cover the damages.
If a third party contributed to or caused the accident, then their insurer may cover the accident.
Kenner Uber and Lyft Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me (337) 777-7777
Our Team Wants to Help You Fight for Compensation
With Uber and Lyft rideshare accident cases, claimants may be able to receive compensation for multiple types of damages, such as:
- Their medical expenses
- The income they lost because of their rideshare-related injuries
- Their pain and suffering, be it emotional or physical pain
- Any property of theirs that was damaged in the accident
- Losses related to having to live with a permanent disability or change in appearance, such as scarring or burns
Call (504) 777-7777 to learn more about the team at Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers and how we might approach your case.
When an Uninsured Motorist Is Involved
In some cases, the rideshare driver might not have auto insurance, even though they are required to have both by state law and the employer’s standards. In cases involving a third party, that individual might not have insurance. Still, there are ways you may be able to receive compensation.
RS Art. 22:1295 mandates that all auto insurance companies offer uninsured motorist (UM) coverage to policyholders, although policyholders are not required to buy it. If your policy has this coverage, your Kenner Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer can review your policy details and determine whether this is a good option for you. If so, you may be able to receive compensation to cover your medical expenses, income loss, and property damage.
If not, you might be able to bring a lawsuit against the uninsured motorist or look into different insurance coverage plans that might offer you compensation if you file a claim.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Louisiana Gives Plaintiffs 1 Year to File Their Lawsuits
If you are interested in filing a lawsuit after the Uber or Lyft car accident, you generally have one year to file your case, per CC Art. 3492. This one-year deadline starts on the day of the accident, and if you fail to meet it, your case may be dismissed.
Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers Is Not Afraid to Take on Rideshare Companies
It can be intimidating to go up against big corporations like Uber and Lyft, but these rideshare companies still have to abide by the law like everyone. Louisiana enacted TNC laws to protect victims injured in rideshare accidents so that they could potentially get the insurance coverage they need. If the rideshare driver was at fault for the accident, then the appropriate liable party should be held legally accountable for your accident-related losses.
Get in touch with a team member at Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers by calling (504) 777-7777. We provide all prospective clients with a free consultation. Once we gain perspective on your case, we can assign a Kenner Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer to handle your case and guide you in your pursuit of financial recovery.