If Louisiana Farm Bureau has sent you a denial letter for your car accident claim, it is essential to file an appeal quickly. Some insurance companies will delay payment on a claim to circumvent the payment deadlines by sending an automatic denial of coverage.
Under Louisiana law, RS 22 § 1892, insurers have 30 days to act on your claim. They must either pay the claim or issue a denial of coverage. This law keeps insurance companies from operating in bad faith. Bad faith practices include refusing to pay a legitimate claim or creating an unnecessary delay in processing claims from policyholders.
What to Do After Louisiana Farm Bureau Denies a Claim
If you get a notice of denial, read it carefully to determine the reason for the denial. Many times, a refusal may be based on a lack of information. The bare minimum information necessary to file a claim is:
- License numbers for all involved cars
- The accident report from law enforcement
- Names and contact information for drivers, passengers, and witnesses
The claims adjuster may require additional information to make a complete assessment of your accident. They may issue a denial to meet the deadline of 30 days required by law. Other reasons for denial may include:
- Lapsed policy or unpaid premiums
- Lack of adequate coverage
- False statements or information provided in the initial claim
- Failure to report on time
- Excluded driver
- Exaggerated or fraudulent claim
- Failure to seek immediate medical attention
- DUI, suspended license, or other illegal conditions
Regardless of why your claim received the initial denial, it is critical to notify Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance of your intent to file an appeal.
For a free legal consultation, call (337) 777-7777
Seek Help to Assist with Filing an Appeal
Finding a car accident or personal injury attorney to assist with your appeal can significantly help. A law firm knows what information is necessary to satisfy the requirements to get your claim approved and get you compensation.
Reasons Insurance Companies Deny Your Claim
Often, a policyholder may not understand what their insurance policy covers and may request compensation for the coverage they didn’t have.
Understanding Your Policy Coverage
Louisiana law requires a minimum amount of insurance coverage for every registered vehicle. Known by the abbreviation of 15/30/25, this coverage provides for:
- $15,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
- $30,000 in bodily injury coverage for all parties
- $25,000 in property damage coverage for vehicle repair/replacement
In addition to the state-mandated minimum requirements, Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance requires medical payment coverage. This includes $5,000 per person, with a combined total of $25,000 per accident for “reasonable medical expenses.” This coverage is a set amount and cannot be increased.
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance also includes a death indemnity clause that provides $10,000 if your death was caused by a vehicle accident. If you receive a MedPay payment to cover life-saving attempts, that amount will be deducted from the death indemnity payment.
Understanding Policy Options
In addition to the minimum coverage, individuals may add coverage in specific areas, including:
- Collision coverage pays for repairs to your vehicle no matter who was at fault.
- Comprehensive coverage compensates loss or damage to your car from things that are not accident-related, such as theft, vandalism, weather, glass breakage, and more.
- Rental Car coverage is typically a part of the collision or comprehensive coverage.
- Roadside Assistance is available to pay up to $75.00 in charges for towing or onsite repair assistance.
- Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist coverage ensures you receive compensation if you are involved in an accident with a driver that does not have the required minimum liability insurance.
It is essential to understand the provisions of your insurance policy, especially when claiming an accident.
The Benefits of Hiring a Law Firm
There are many benefits to seeking representation from a car accident attorney. The most significant benefit is perhaps the peace of mind in knowing that your lawyer is doing all the legwork while you recover from your injuries. Additionally, a personal injury lawyer will fight for your compensation by doing the following:
- Gather evidence to determine fault or negligence
- Compile and organize your medical information to document your injuries
- Evaluate your insurance policy coverage to determine your benefits
- Obtain information about the other driver
- Prepare and submit all necessary paperwork and claim forms on your behalf
- Negotiate with insurance companies
Our car accident team will fight for your compensation, allowing you time to recover and rebuild your life after an accident.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers Can Help
If Louisiana Farm Bureau sent you a notice of denial, your first step is to notify them of your intent to appeal. Then it would benefit you to seek the counsel of a personal injury or car accident lawyer.
At Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers, we concentrate on personal injury. Our team members understand the insurance industry, and we know how they attempt to deny compensation for legitimate claims. We appreciate your needs and the medical care you need to recover from injuries. We will fight for your compensation. Contact our team to begin your free case evaluation.