According to The Advocate, a pedestrian accident that occurred in East Baton Rouge has resulted in the death of a toddler. Police claim the accident occurred on a Saturday evening at around 5:15 p.m., and the 1-year-old girl died Sunday morning from injuries that she sustained in the impact.
The 39-year-old man who was behind the wheel at the time of the incident was backing out of a driveway when he hit the little girl. The East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff’s Office claims the toddler sustained serious bodily injury at the scene, and she was unresponsive when first responders arrived.
Deputies report that when they questioned the motorist, he admitted he had been drinking alcohol. He also allegedly stated that he did not realize he had run over the little girl.
Police claim that the man had poor balance after the incident and that he was swaying from side to side. When they tested his blood alcohol content using a breathalyzer, though, it registered as 0.014, which is well below the legal limit of 0.08.
According to the affidavit for the motorist’s arrest, he also submitted to a drug test, and the results are pending. Currently, he faces charges for first-degree negligent injury, which is a felony.
If you were injured or lost a loved one due to another motorist’s negligence, contact Laborde Earles Law Firm. A Baton Rouge personal injury lawyer will help you pursue justice and compensation for medical bills and other damages.
Our attorneys have more than 100 years of combined experience representing accident victims and their grieving loved ones. Call 800-522-6733 to schedule a free case evaluation.
Do Major Insurance Providers Cover Medical Bills for DUI Accident Victims?
When it comes to car accident liability, Louisiana is a “fault” state, which means injured parties typically seek damages from those who were ultimately responsible for the collision. You may be concerned about recovering compensation following a DUI collision, though, because you have probably heard that driving while impaired negates the policyholder’s agreement with the insurance provider.
Although impaired motorists cannot expect their policy to cover the property damage or bodily injury that they sustain in a collision, their liability coverage should take care of any accident victims. That means if you are hurt in a motor vehicle collision with a drunk driver, your damages should be covered up to the policy’s limit.
In the state of Louisiana, motorists must carry at least $15,000 worth of coverage in bodily injury per person with at least $30,000 per accident, as well as at least $25,000 in property damage coverage. If the motorist liable for your injuries only has the minimum required coverage but your damages exceed these amounts, a personal injury lawyer can help you pursue other potential avenues of compensation.
If a member of your family was killed by a drunk driver in Louisiana, turn to Laborde Earles Law Firm for legal guidance. We have helped accident victims and their families recover more than $200 million in successful settlements and verdicts.
A Baton Rouge accident attorney will evaluate the circumstances of the collision, gather evidence, interview witnesses, track damages, and help you fight for the maximum payout. Call 800-522-6733 to schedule a free consultation.