Approximately13% of drivers in Louisiana are uninsured, according to the Insurance Information Institute (III). This means that if one of these drivers causes your accident, you may not be able to pursue compensation against the at-fault driver’s insurance plan like you would normally be able to. This can add an additional layer of frustration and confusion during an already trying time.
If you were harmed by an uninsured driver, an Andrew uninsured motorist lawyer from Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers can discuss your claim with you and help you identify potential sources of compensation. We can assist you throughout the claims process and beyond. Contact us today at (337) 777-7777 to learn more.
Louisiana Minimum Insurance Laws
You are only required to maintain minimum liability coverage in Louisiana, according to the Louisiana Department of Insurance. The Department’s Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance states that you must maintain liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $15,000 for bodily injury of a single person in an accident
- $30,000 for bodily injury of more than one person in an accident
- $25,000 for property damage for another person’s vehicle or other property
Liability insurance only covers the other person’s damages, not your own, if you cause an accident. Insurance will only cover the amounts up to the coverage limits the insured has, so if your damages exceed the coverage limits, you will have to look for another source of insurance or sue the person responsible for the accident.
If you drive without insurance, you may be fined between $500 to $1,000. Drivers without insurance may also be subject to additional penalties, including:
- Having their vehicle impounded.
- Having their driving privileges suspended.
- Having their license plates removed.
- Having their driver’s license suspended and their registration revoked for 180 days if they were involved in an accident with no insurance.
- Having their driver’s license revoked for 12 to 18 months if they are caught lying that they had insurance when they did not.
Additionally, if you do not have insurance and you are involved in an accident, you will be barred from collecting the first $25,000 of property damage and the first $15,000 in personal injuries even if the accident was not your fault under Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law.
Laborde Earles injury was great for me they took care of me very fast and professional. If for any reason I need legal help they will be who I use.Client
Options for Pursuing Compensation from an Accident Caused by an Underinsured or Uninsured Driver
If you were injured in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver, you may need to look to your own insurance or other sources for coverage. Depending on your circumstances, your options for pursuing compensation may include:
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage pays benefits to you if you are hit by a driver who does not have any insurance while underinsured motorist coverage applies in cases where the insured has insufficient coverage to pay for your damages in an accident caused by him or her. This coverage applies to you, as well as to any other occupant in your vehicle who suffers a personal injury while in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
There are different types of uninsured or underinsured motorist policies, including:
- Economic only – These policies only cover the actual costs of injuries to you and the other occupants in the vehicle; property damage is not included, nor is pain and suffering.
- Property damage coverage – This coverage only provides for the repairs to your vehicle and not to the cost of injuries. You will have to pay a $250 deductible. Additionally, damages are limited to $25,000 or the actual value of the vehicle, whichever is less, unless you purchase a more expensive policy with a higher limit.
Collision coverage covers damages you sustain in a motor vehicle accident, regardless of who is at fault. If you have collision coverage, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance company and receive compensation in this way. You will have to pay the deductible associated with your policy.
Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage applies to medical expenses for a specific period of time following the accident, subject to your policy limits. This type of coverage also pays funeral and burial expenses if the accident resulted in death. This type of coverage is paid regardless of fault. The coverage applies to you, family members, and other occupants in the vehicle at the time of the accident.
Owner of the Vehicle
Even if the driver did not have his or her own insurance, the vehicle itself may be insured if the driver’s family member owned the vehicle or the owner gave the driver permission to use the vehicle.
If the driver was driving a vehicle with an employer’s name on it or was working at the time of the accident, his or her employer may be legally liable for the accident.
I thank God for Digger & David. I don’t know what we would have done if it hadn’t have been for them.Rick Smith | Client
Potential Costs Involved in Uninsured Motorist Claims
When a driver takes on a knowing risk like driving without insurance, he or she may take on other risky driving behaviors, such as:
- Drinking and driving
- Texting while driving
- Reckless driving
If an uninsured driver causes the accident, he or she may even leave the scene of the accident to try to avoid the criminal and civil consequences of his or her behavior. Unfortunately for victims, this may mean not receiving prompt medical attention and experiencing more severe injuries.
Hit-and-run driving victims may be able to recover compensation for the following:
- Property damage
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Punitive damages
Contact an Andrew uninsured motorist lawyer from Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers at (337) 777-7777 to learn more about the potential value of your claim.
The reassurance from Digger and his staff gave me that renewed hope that it’s going to be okay down the road.Client
Get Help from an Uninsured Motorist Attorney
If you or your loved one was injured by a driver who did not have insurance, an Andrew uninsured motorist lawyer from Laborde Earles Injury Lawyers can help. Our robust team of personal injury lawyers can handle all aspects of your claim, whether that means investigating the person responsible for your hit-and-run accident, filing a claim on your behalf with your own insurance company, or finding other sources of recovery.
We work on a contingency fee basis, so you do not pay for any attorney fees unless we successfully recover compensation on your behalf. Call us today at (337) 777-7777 to speak to a member of our team.